top of page

"I found myself raising my hand just a little higher"

I am sure many members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints are aware of the dissenting votes that has occurred at the most recent General Conference. Personally, I am glad there is opposition to the Lords Church. For me, it continues to fulfill the prophecy that there would be those who oppose the Church.

For some of us, we might find that we are raising our hand to the square simply out of habit or perhaps tradition. But the next time I raise my hand to the square, I will have a better knowledge of why I do so and why it is so important to have modern day prophets and apostles. "The honor and opportunity to sustain our leaders is one I don't want to take for granted again. Today's vote allowed me to think deeper about my commitment and faith. I wasn't expecting it, but today's opposing voters strengthened my sustaining vote. And I don't think I'm alone. I can't remember a time when the congregation sang the intermediate hymn with more gusto. Tears came to my eyes when loudly and with resolve 20,000 in the Conference Center were joined by members around the world in singing the words, "We thank thee, oh God, for a prophet!"" http://ldsliving.com/story/78556-my-experience-in-the-conference-center-during-the-opposing-vote Book of Mormon 2 Nephi 2: 11 For it must needs be, that there is an opposition in all things. If not so, my firstborn in the wilderness, righteousness could not be brought to pass, neither wickedness, neither holiness nor misery, neither good nor bad. Wherefore, all things must needs be a compound in one; wherefore, if it should be one body it must needs remain as dead, having no life neither death, nor corruption nor incorruption, happiness nor misery, neither sense nor insensibility.


RECENT POSTS:

SEARCH BY TAGS:

  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round

© 2014 by Chips and Dip. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page