top of page

Getting to Know the Mountains

Hiking the rough terrains of the Superstition Mountains has proved in times past to be both exciting and dreadful. In one particular instance I was hiking along a mountain side with some great friends of mine. The journey was beautiful and the trail was challenging. But we knew that we would be fine so as long as we were prepared and willing to stay on the path.

In the midst of our journey we approached a giant cool cave that would echo any sound you could possibly muster up. We took a break to gain our strength and hydrate while gazing upon the beautiful mountains that filled our souls with gratitude. As we started to continue to ascend the mountain we realized that the trail seemed to go into two different directions. One went up the side of the mountain but seemed to have come to a quick dead end. We ventured down this trail to find that our assumption was correct. As we observed this path the rest of the crew decided that this was not the way and that they would continue up the other trail. I called to them that I would continue up this trail-alone-and see where it takes me to. As I ventured forward this seemingly attractive trail the rough terrain would prove to be more difficult than the last one we were on. I found myself getting stuck in certain spots that forbade me to turn back lest I suffer the consequences of falling or to continue upward through the hostile plants whose thorns pierced my very skin. I finally came to a comfortable spot on my off-trail pursuit and from my point of view I could see the rest of the crew from high up slowly ascending the mountain from the main trail. I called for them. They called back. One of whom named Arnaud decided that he’d join me as well on my climb up. I waited as he approached me. We seemed to be so much higher and so much closer to the top then the rest of the group. Victory-for us-seemed not so far off. Another short but strenuous climb brought us to a point where we were about 20 feet from the top. But the climb would be impossible. Where we were standing it seemed that we could easily go around the mountain and continue our climb up. We decidedly prompted to go around from where we were, standing on a relatively flat surface and thought that on the other side of the mountain we could easily walk the rest of the way up. We could not have been more wrong. What turned into a nice day-hike turned into jumping from rock to rock- climbing up and down avoiding danger, bushwhacking and so on. One instance we were climbing my companion had fallen hard and hit his bottom on a rock from a jump that was about 7 feet high. At this point we could not go back. We could only climb down. Reflecting on what we had been done we were grateful that some of the other less experienced hikers did not follow our bad example when just after this moment we heard voices calling for us from behind “Eric!” called one. “Arnaud” shouted another. We could not believe our ears. They had followed us down this treacherous path and now they would have to suffer the very same experience that we were. I thought to myself “how is it, that through my example, I can influence others?” That day I realized a very important truth. That you are an example and that people you know may mimic either your good or bad behaviors. That day I chose to stray from the path and doing so I lead others down the woeful and miserable path that I chose to follow when I could have stayed on the straight and narrow.

Thankfully in the end we were all ok. But I realized that-like life- the mountains can be a dangerous and treacherous terrain when one is not prepared and willing to follow the correct path.

RECENT POSTS:

SEARCH BY TAGS:

  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round

© 2014 by Chips and Dip. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page